South Dakota is Becoming Younger

The Census Bureau recently released new estimates that examine population changes among groups by age, sex, race, and Hispanic origin down to the county level. What’s notable about these stats is South Dakota’s median age – it is trending downward. Our state is getting younger and was one of seven states to do so between July 1, 2012 and July 1, 2013.

medianage2013

Looking at the above table, the overall decrease in age isn’t huge, but as a state that aged over much of the last decade, and is concerned about the out-migration of our young people, it’s encouraging to see the marker slide in the other direction.

On a personal note, I just realized I’m right at the median age and I’m a little depressed about that. Fifty percent of South Dakota’s population is younger than me and fifty percent of South Dakota’s population is older than me. Yikes! When did I hit “middle age” (wink, wink, nudge, nudge)? Soothe my sadness… please send coffee. 🙂



Categories: Demographics

Tags: , , , , ,

